Facebook
Join our mailing list!




PayPal Logo


NexTag Seller




Black Bear Sporting Goods is an Upfront Merchant on TheFind. Click for info.


Return to Seastar Solutions Baystar Hydr Kit - Hydraulic Steering System - HK4200A
Sort By::
Page of 3
Click to see more items


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Very easy to install December 17, 2013
Reviewer: Derrick from Decatur, al  
I put this hydraulic steering on my 1860 G3 center console duck boat because I got tired of my other cable freezing up. It took longer to take the old cable out than it did to install the new system. I had to install a spacer where it mounts to the motor so it would bolt up flush but it says that in the manual but not in the description when you buy it. Luckily I had a spacer that would fit. Besides that it has worked great.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Hydraulic Boat Steering October 8, 2013
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from Louisiana  
Complete kit.  Easy to install.  Smooth steering control at all speeds.  Install time approx. 3 hours. Most of the time was spent removing the old.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Bay Star Hydraulic Steering July 12, 2013
Reviewer: Cathy T. from Preston,MD  
I was very surprised at how quickly I received my item. I chose the free shipping option and received it within 3 days.  The installation instructions were easy to follow and the steering is working great!  Thanks!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Hydraulic Steering February 19, 2013
Reviewer: John from Louisiana  
I have a 18' bay boat with a 140 Hp motor.Thinking installing it would be hard but installation was easy. The system work great.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Awesome product, and delivered fast! January 8, 2013
Reviewer: Phoggy-Skope from Lafayette Louisiana  
I ordered this product with standard freight on a Thursday and received it the following Saturday.
I usually have terrible luck when it comes to DIY projects, but that wasn’t the case with this product.
It was very easy to install, had no leaks, and no additional parts were required. The most difficult task was the removal of my old cable system, which I will never go back to. Just pay close attention to the instructions in regard to line crossover (port to starboard).


Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Very Satisfied December 13, 2012
Reviewer: Anonymous Person  
Great Product, Super Fast Shipping and would Buy again.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Installation of hydraulic steering unit July 11, 2012
Reviewer: Priscilla Moody from Dania Beach  
I was very pleasantly surprised at the speed in which I recieved the unit. It came in 3 business days. The price was below other sites also. It was relatively easy to install. Straightforward and easy to read instructions except for the fact you needed to reverse the hoses. That detail was at the very end and we had to reverse it after we had already installed but contrary to our anticipated mess, that was even easy to do. If you have all the tools it can be done by yourself but having a extra set of hands makes it much easier. It saved me $600.00 doing it myself instead of having it done at the marine shop.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
As expected, great product, great service! June 28, 2012
Reviewer: NJ Boating safety Course, Wayne Carbone from Lanoka Harbor, NJ  
Anything I order from Amazon.com arrives quickly. The products are always second to none for the price. The retailers always stand behind their products as was the case with Black Bear. They were friendly and supportive, never falling short of what I expected. I would happily deal with them again if the occasion should arise. I'm not an employee of theirs. I'm just a very satisfied customer.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Teleflex Baystar Hydraulic Steering System June 6, 2012
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from Southwest Missouri  
Easy to install. I am very pleased with the system and would highly recommend to anyone who has some mechanical abilities.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Baystar Hydraulic Steering Kit - Evinrude 130HP June 3, 2012
Reviewer: till4fun from Greensboro, NC (Belews Lake)  
By the end of last boating season, we could barely steer our boat due to tight cables.  We considered installing new cables but determined that the outboard motor would need to be disconnected and shifted to port to get the new cables installed.  Too heavy and difficult.

We got a quote of $720 from the local boat store to install new cables.  Too much $$, so we decided to go hydraulic since it would be easy to run the hoses (called tubing in the manual).

My son and I installed the kit (including purging air out of the tubing) in about 3 hours.

The installation instructions are a bit confusing, so take some time to read through the manual and highlight the sections that pertain to your model before starting the install.

Took the boat out yesterday and the steering is a dream.  Love it, love it, love it.  My son was steering the boat with just one finger.  Seems like we have power steering.

We are very happy with decision to go hydraulic.

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items